Fear is a trap

“It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all–in which case, you fail by default.”~J.K. Rowling

As I embark on my journey as a Super Senior, I thought it my duty to impart some wisdom to the incoming freshmen. So I spent the better part of an hour coming up with a long list of things they should and shouldn’t do. Then I realized it was pointless. Whilst there are many ways to do college wrong, I don’t think there is only one way to do college right. We each have to figure out our own way. In the end, the only advice I have to give is don’t be afraid to make mistakes.

This week I head back to school for my last semester as an undergraduate. I’m not as excited as I usually am about the start of the school year. I keep thinking about me this time last year, when I was sitting at my desk writing in my journal about where I would be in August 2013. I had no idea where that would be, but I knew the one place I wouldn’t be was at that desk. Yet here I am, still an undergrad, still an English major and still not sure of what happens next.

In a way, it’s a disappointment, but I’d rather see it as an important lesson learnt. Fear is a trap. If you let it, it will keep you trapped in cage, unable to grow, surrounded by shadows that only you can see. It was fear of the unknown that led me to postpone graduation. But no longer! Come December I will proudly walk across that stage ready to take on the world because this semester I’m going to be brave enough to let myself make some mistakes. It hurts when you fail, but you learn. That’s what’s important – you learn.

2 thoughts on “Fear is a trap

  1. I’m so happy for you! It’s wonderful to let that fear go and graduate with the confidence you deserve. If I am in town I’ll certainly attend, so keep me posted on Facebook!

    You’ve worked hard and did a lot of soul searching. I promise you it won’t be in vain. You’re developing into a great woman right in front of me and your self-assurance will only get better with time and experience.

    I wish the very best in your final semester and look forward to hearing about your progress!

    *much hugs*

    –Cliff

Leave a Reply

