Important Lessons Learnt This Semester

The semester is finally over 🙂 This is the point where I usually make a list of the most important things I’ve learnt in writing classes. However, this spring was my first semester in two years where I didn’t take a writing class, so I’m running a little low on writing epiphanies. I’ve missed workshops, but I still learnt some valuable life lessons.

1. Attitude reflects leadership

One of the hardest things about being a leader is realising that the first person you have to look at when something is wrong with the group attitude is you. Whilst everyone brings their own personality and skills set to the table, the culture of the group derives a lot from the leader. So if your team isn’t enthusiastic, the first thing you have to ask yourself is “Am I enthusiastic?” If not, why? The reason you’re not enthusiastic is probably the same reason your subordinates aren’t enthusiastic either. Instead asking why people aren’t doing the right thing, the first thing you have to ask is how you have created an environment that leads to that kind of behaviour. That is not to say that it’s always your fault. Not at all. But a good leader always looks at herself first.

2. Revision is a word we need to use more

I was reading some tweets from some friends in the UK who were preparing for exams and they were all talking about revising for exams. I don’t think I heard a single one of my classmates use that word this semester. We always talk about studying and the thing with that word is that you study for an exam. You’re not learning the knowledge for any other purpose other than to pass. Revision implies that you’ve actually seen the work before and now you’re solidifying the knowledge, not only for exams but to keep it with you. Revision – re-seeing to find new meaning. It applies to writing as well. I’ve been working on a nonfiction essay since last October and recently finished the 8th draft. The funny thing is I’m only now starting to feel like I’m getting to the heart of the story. Revising is the only way to make my writing better.

3. There is no perfect, just potential.

There is no light-bulb moment when it comes to me deciding what to do after graduation, no aha moment biding its time and no neon sign that says “Go this way to find the perfect job.” None of that is there because there is no perfect, just potential.

There-is-no-perfect-just-potential

 

Gosh! I can hardly believe the semester is already over. I feel like Spring Break was a couple of weeks ago. But here I am. I still haven’t decided what I’m going to do after I graduate, but I think I’ve come to the realisation that sometimes, the worst thing you can do when you’re undecided is stop. Last year, whenever I was uncertain about what to do next, I would stop. I would tell myself I needed to stop and think. I’m starting to think that that’s the worst thing you could do.You have to keep moving. I remember reading somewhere that God can only show you the way forward if you’re already moving. You have to keep moving! Creating the life you want isn’t a one-off decision. It’s the actions you take every day.

Expect to hear more from me. I’m looking forward to having more writing time in the summer. Till then, keep moving friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

