Here I Am Lord

Here I am Lord
Is it I Lord?
I have heard you calling in the night
I will go Lord
If you lead me
I will hold your people in my heart.

I like to think I have a calling, some purpose God has put me on the earth to fulfill. I’ve always imagined it’s going to be a voice in the middle of the night that says, “Go and be this,” like when God called to Samuel and told him of the plans He had for him. Since age eight, when I read the Bible story, I’ve been practicing my response to God. When my calling comes I will be ready to say “‘Speak, Lord, your servant is listening.” I have to admit I am a little jealous of Samuel. He was born with a purpose. Samuel’s mother had struggled to fall pregnant. She prayed to God for a child and promised to dedicate the child to the Lord for his whole life. She soon fell pregnant with Samuel. When she weaned him, she left him at the Temple and so Samuel grew up in the House of the Lord, serving him as he would for his entire life. Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you are exactly where you are supposed to be, doing what you were born to do? It’s hard to find that kind of certainty. How many of us are born to anoint the first two kings of the Kingdom of Israel? Yet I’m still waiting for that day when God will call me and save me from having to make a decision on what I want to do with my life.

One thought on “Here I Am Lord

Leave a Reply

