Desperately Seeking Inspiration

“If you are seeking creative ideas, go out walking. Angels whisper to a man when he goes for a walk.” – Raymond Inmon

This is one of my favourite quotes. Whenever I am stuck on a writing project, I take a walk and I always come back with some sort of idea of what to do next. Sometimes it’s a great idea, sometimes it’s horrible, but it always gets me writing again. Actually I should say, it always used to get me writing again. These last couple of weeks, I have been taking many walks, but the angels of inspirations aren’t saying anything at all. Not even a distant murmur to be deciphered in the groggy haze I’m always in when I get up at 6 am.

Why do I need inspiration? Because I can’t be bothered to do anything. I am told I might have a serious case of Senioritis for which there is no known cure except toughing it out and graduation. Senioritis strikes people of all ages who are in the final year of any schooling. Symptoms include chronic procrastination, severe disinterest in class and a general feeling of not wanting to do anything.

The problem is I have worked entirely too hard in the first three years of college to allow it all to fall apart now. I am in a graduate course that is kicking my butt. I’m working on my honors thesis. I’m in a French class where most of the time I have no idea what the professor is saying and my nonfiction writing class is requiring so much growth from me as a writer. This is not the time to be feeling passive. Yet I am.

So I walk and I walk, waiting to hear from those elusive angels. But inspiration has to be earned and you earn it by showing up everyday, even the days when you really don’t want to. You earn it by not giving up when you’ve only produced a pitiful two paragraphs in an hour. I just wish I felt a little more motivated to slog out the hard times.

What do you do when you’re feeling uninspired and lacking motivation?

One thought on “Desperately Seeking Inspiration

  1. You remind yourself that you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you Philippians 4 vs 13..he becomes your inspiration ….surrender to his power dear it will definitely help!!

Leave a Reply

