Starting my Honors Thesis

I graduate in just over 6 months and at the start of this semester I decided that my big project for my final year of college would be an Honors Thesis. I’m a creative writing major, so of course I picked a creative project for my thesis. Initially I decided I would write three stories with the same protagonist, but I really liked the character and felt like he deserved more space to express himself. So I decided I would write a novella. One month and three hundred words later, I’m throwing in the towel on the novella. If it was the only thing I had to do, I would continue, but with all my other classes, work and the hours I spend worrying about what I am going to do about the future, there is just no time to do it. And writing a novella is proving to be a lot harder than I ever imagines. So now I’m back to the three short stories except each one has a different protagonist.

So why am I writing all this? I’m procrastinating. I’ve become quite an expert at this the last couple of months. I am great at convincing myself that I am getting things done when I’m actually not doing anything productive at all. I spend hours trawling the internet on opportunities for after graduation, but really what I’m doing is postponing making a decision. I spend hours reading short stories by various Zimbabwean writers and journal articles in the name of research but I’m actually just running away from the blank page that I have to fill with a story.

Indecisiveness has become my crutch. But no longer. Tonight I am making the decision to start. I can’t keep hiding from my project forever. Time is not on my side. So here goes. Wish me luck!

One thought on “Starting my Honors Thesis

  1. 🙂 I can only say im in the same boat as you my dear !!! your posts are the breath of fresh air that makes me appreciate my journey …it shall be well Chido …you have an amazing gift ,GOD will grant you the desires of your heart :):)

Leave a Reply

