The Ocean Has No Answers

I’ve been in Richards Bay, South Africa all week and every day, I have spent hours at the beach just staring out at the water waiting for some “AHA!” moment, some sort of epiphany that will tell me what I’m supposed to do next. The only conclusion I have come to is that the ocean has no answers.

You see, I’m in a bit of a panic right now. It suddenly struck me a couple of months ago that I am less than a year away from graduation and have no idea what I am going to do with my English and French degree. I want to be a writer, but every writer needs a day job before they get published (if they ever get published). What is my day job going to be? I’ve spent the last month asking for advice from my parents, my brother, my sister, my cousin and pretty much anyone who will listen until finally I sat by the Indian Ocean and her to tell me what the next step is. What am I supposed to do next?

The ocean has no answers. Neither does my mother. The only person who can answer what I am going to do next is me. I have to learn to trust myself and decide what to do next.’

As for the ocean, she brought some much needed perspective to my decision. In the grand scheme of things, my decision about what comes next is very small. Whatever I decide, the world will keep on spinning and life will go on. So stop taking yourself seriously and just make the decision already!

One thought on “The Ocean Has No Answers

Leave a Reply

